

REPORT TO CITY COUNCIL

To: Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

From: Grant Yates, City Manager

Prepared by: Nicole Dailey, Assistant to the City Manager

Date: January 12, 2021

Subject: By-District Appointments for Planning Commission and Public Safety Advisory Commission

Recommendation

Discuss and direct staff regarding potential transition to commission appointment by district.

Background

At the City Council meeting on December 8, 2020, the City Council approved policy changes related to establishing a new Measure Z Citizen Committee. These changes included the appointment of five members to the Committee, one from each of the City's council districts, i.e., by-district appointments. At that time, the City Council requested that staff bring back an item to the next City Council meeting to review and discuss options for changing all City commissions to by-district appointments.

In February 2018, the City Council transitioned to by-district elections with five Districts. The City currently has three standing Commissions: the Planning Commission, the Public Safety Advisory Commission (PSAC) and, soon, the Measure Z Citizen Committee. The Planning Commission and PSAC are each composed of five members appointed by the City Council to four-year staggered terms.

Within specific areas of responsibility, each Commission serves as an advisory body to the City Council on policy matters or reviewing specific issues as directed by the City Council or prescribed by law.

Discussion:

The PSAC currently has five members, with three terms ending in June 2021 and two terms scheduled to end in June 2023. Conversely, the City's Planning Commission currently has five members, two members whose terms end in June 2022 and three members whose terms end in 2024. Lastly, City Council members are also elected to staggered four-year terms, with two terms ending in December 2022 and three terms ending in December 2024.

Attached is a map showing the current composition of the City's PSAC and Planning Commission and below is a breakdown of each commissioner and their respective council districts:

By-District Commission Appointments Page 2 of 3

Planning Commission

Adam Armit	District 2
Rendell Klaarenbeck	District 5
Myles Ross	District 2
John Gray	District 3
Matthew Dobler	District 4

Public Safety Advisory Commission (PSAC)

Jerry Carlos	District 2
Kelly Hendley	District 2
Adolfo Pastrano	District 2
Agnes Williams	District 5
Roger Miller	District 2

If the City Council desires to change commission appointments from at-large to by-district appointments, there are several factors that must be considered as part of that discussion.

First, the existing members and appointed terms. Currently, there are Commissioners holding seats for a designated term. If the City transitioned to by-district appointments, consideration must be given to the impact this would have on the existing Commissioners and when the transition to by-district appointments would take place.

Next, the terms of the Commissioners and the City Council. City Council elections and Planning Commission appointments occur on even years, while PSAC appointments occur in odd years. Currently, the terms of the Commissioners do not coincide with the years City Council members are elected. It would likely be best to have appointments take place at least a few months after an election to allow adequate time for notification, applications, selection and appointment of Commissioners. Currently, our policy requires at least a 30-day application period.

Finally, redistricting. The City is preparing to kick off its efforts this year to redraw district boundaries based on the outcome of the 2020 Census. Census data is expected in May and the redistricting process will take approximately two years to complete, and will be done prior to the next general municipal election in November of 2022. As such, if changes were made to Commission appointments now, there is potential for the Commissioners to no longer reside within their designated districts when the new boundaries are established. Therefore, it could be worthwhile to wait to transition to by-district appointments until after redistricting is complete.

In addition to evaluating key considerations at the City, staff reviewed the existing policies of surrounding cities and found the following:

- **Menifee** Most commissions include four commissioners appointed by-district by the respective council member, and one member at-large. This is the same structure as their City Council.
- Wildomar Planning Commission members are appointed by-district by the respective council member.
- Murrieta Committee/commission members are appointed at-large.
- Temecula Committee/commission members are appointed at-large.
- **Corona** Committee/commission members are appointed by-district by the respective council member.

By-District Commission Appointments Page 3 of 3

• **Perris** – The City Council is still elected at-large, therefore, there are no districts and committee/commission members are appointed at-large.

The information included above has been provided to assist in a discussion at the meeting regarding any future amendments to Council Policy No. 200-5A regarding Commission Appointments.

Fiscal Impact:

No expected fiscal impacts.

Exhibits:

- A Map of Commissioner Locations
- B Council Policy