

REPORT TO CITY COUNCIL

To: Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

From: Candice Alvarez, City Clerk

Date: May 25, 2022

Subject: By-District Appointments for Planning Commission and Public Safety Advisory Commission

Recommendation

Adopt a revised Council Policy No. 200-5A regarding Commission Appointments to formalize the City Council's direction to convert to by-district Commission appointments and allow Council Members to appoint someone from outside of their District should they not receive an application from anyone within their District.

Background

In February 2018, the City Council transitioned to by-district elections with five Districts. The City currently has three standing Commissions: Planning Commission, Public Safety Advisory Commission (PSAC) and Measure Z Citizen Committee, although the Public Safety Advisory Commission is currently suspended. The Planning Commission and PSAC are each composed of five members appointed by the City Council to four-year staggered terms.

At the City Council meeting on December 8, 2020, the City Council approved policy changes related to establishing a new Measure Z Citizen Committee. These changes included the appointment of five members to the Committee, one from each of the City's council districts, i.e., by-district appointments. At that time, the City Council requested that staff bring back an item to review and discuss options for changing all City commissions to by-district appointments.

On January 12, 2021, following discussion, the City Council directed Staff to move toward By-District Appointments for the Planning and Public Safety Advisory Commissions after then-current Commissioners terms completed and after the 2022 redistricting process. The Council also requested that the policy allow Council Members to appoint someone from outside of their District should they not receive an application from anyone within their District.

Additionally, on July 13, 2021, the City Council postponed the appointment of any new commissioners to the Public Safety Advisory Commission pending review and clarification of the role and responsibilities of PSAC and the Commission appointment process.

Discussion:

The City's Planning Commission currently has five members, two members whose terms end on June 30, 2022 and three members whose terms end on June 30, 2024.

By-District Commission Appointments Page 2 of 2

Exhibit A, attached, is a map showing the current composition of the City's Planning Commission, and below is a breakdown of each commissioner and their respective council districts:

Planning Commission

	Term Ends	
Michael Carroll	June 30, 2024	District 2
Jodi Peters	June 30, 2022	District 2
John Gray	June 30. 2024	District 3
Matthew Dobler	June 30, 2024	District 4
Rendell Klaarenbeek	June 30, 2022	District 5

City Council elections and Planning Commission appointments occur on even years. Currently, the terms of the Commissioners do not coincide with the years City Council members are elected. It would likely be best to have appointments take place at least a month after an election to allow adequate time for notification, applications, selection, and appointment of Commissioners. Currently, our policy requires at least a 30-day application period.

Now that redistricting has been completed, staff is presenting a revised Council Policy No. 200-5A regarding Commission Appointments to formalize the City Council's direction to convert to by-district Commission appointments and allow Council Members to appoint someone from outside of their District should they not receive an application from anyone within their District.

Fiscal Impact:

No expected fiscal impacts.

Exhibits:

A – Redlined Council Policy No. 200-5A